Soy Yogurt, Take Two

This second batch of soy yogurt (served with the end-of-season mangoes) was slightly thicker than the first time but still not as thick as I'd like.

This second batch of soy yogurt (served with the end-of-season mangoes) was slightly thicker than the first time but still not as thick as I'd like.

My first attempts at making soy yogurt were a success, but I wanted this time to see if I could get it a bit thicker. I don’t want to have to strain it, so I’m tweaking the recipe in the hopes of getting something I like.

After watching Alton Brown on the tv show Good Eats, I thought adding a small amount of soy flour to my soymilk might help. The finished product was noticeably thicker, at least on the bottom of the container, although there still is some wateriness, which you can see in the photo above.

However, I also wrapped a towel around the inner container before stuffing it into the insulated cooler, and I put a towel underneath the whole thing, to maintain the warm temperature for a longer period of time. The ideal range is about 115-120 degrees F. The bacteria will continue to make yogurt as it cools, but not as vigorously.

Since it was thicker at the bottom, this may be due to the towel and not the soy flour. It didn’t occur to me to put a towel on top. So I need to isolate the effects. Next time I’ll try towels but no soy flour and see what happens.

One thing is for sure: the yogurt from the first batch, which has been in my fridge, is getting more sour over time. The lovely tang and creaminess make it addictive, and I find myself dipping in for a spoonful every now and then. I guess it’s healthier than dipping into something like caramel sauce!

The live bacteria are good for my digestive system, which helps my immune system. And I could be paying a lot of money for commercial yogurt instead, which often has gums, thickeners and gelatin, which I don’t want to eat. Mine has just soymilk, a small amount of the first batch of soy yogurt, and some soy flour.

Gee, on second thought, maybe the soy yogurt as starter this time made a difference. Last time I used commercial dairy yogurt as a starter.

Well, I guess that means only one thing: back to the lab!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

