Strawberries for Spring

 When the strawberries appear, you know spring is here

When the strawberries appear, you know spring is here

The smell of a fresh, ripe strawberry makes my mouth water. The luscious red tantalizes, daring me to take a bite. I practically started eating them off the stacks of baskets in the store the other day.

Instead, I washed and froze some to use throughout the year. Buying produce in season ensures the best quality at the cheapest price.

Then I had the idea to make some vinaigrette. After all, I’ve used mango, blueberries and peaches in dressing before; why not strawberries?

It turned out great and tasted buttery, for some reason. I’ll post the recipe and picture another day. I want to see how the flavor matures, since many dressings mellow considerably after a night in the fridge.

Strawberries are a very good source of fiber, Vitamin C and manganese, and a good source of folate and potassium. They have almost no fat and a fairly low glycemic index, which is good news for people with blood sugar issues. Because it is one of the top ten highest pesticide-contaminated foods, try to buy organic strawberries whenever possible.

They only last a few days, so be sure to eat them soon, or freeze them for future use. It’s hard to resist a fresh spring strawberry, though. Enjoy them while you can.

They’ve got me thinking I need to try to develop a vegan strawberry shortcake with whipped cream in the near future. Add it to my list…

Leave a Reply

